Monthly Archives August 2013

Surfin’ On A Maybe


Raven’s Croft is now available for download from all of your favourite stores. No, not that one. They don’t sell MP3s, do they?

Physical CDs will be available at a later date.

The Television of Cruelty: Raven's Croft



We also have a new Facebook page. Please visit and Like!


Ian Williams: Vocals, acoustic guitar, 12-string guitar, mandolin, electric guitars, keyboards, melodica, lap steel, percussion
Dave Shaw: Drums
Jenny Williams: Backing vocals
Graham Hills: Bass
Dave Saunders: Bass

Recorded at Abbey View and Little Monkey Studios, Cheltenham.
Mixed and mastered at Little Monkey Studios.
Engineered and co-produced by Ian Williams and Dave Saunders for Mrs Poverty Productions.

Cover design by Peter Brooks Design.
Cover painting (minus raven) by John Malcolm Williams (1933-1999)

Raven’s Croft

Read More

The Picnic Tree video

Jack and I made this video for The Picnic Tree from Dead Sea Shanties. It was all shot near Winchcombe, Gloucestershire, on the way to a tree we can see from our house that we call the picnic tree (we had a really great picnic there once). Ironically, the tree itself  doesn’t appear in the video, although the last zoom-out shot was taken at its foot. This might be an artistic decision. In The Nettlemen, the story that’s told in the second half of Dead Sea Shanties, the tree takes on a more tragic significance, being the place where the childhood friends had once played.

Watch The Picnic Tree on YouTube

Read More

Endless Street video

This fabulous video was made by Pete Brooks for the song Endless Street from the Season 2 album.

Watch Endless Street on YouTube

Read More

No resistance to R – A – V – E – N – S… Raven’s Croft!

CD Cover Master Final Flat small_smallerAs we’re so close now to release you’re probably asking yourself, “But what IS the running order?” And, even if this thought was far, far away from your mind, we’re going to tell you.

1) Raven’s Croft

2) Dancing In The Damage

3) Will You Still?

4) Firework Show

5) Introducing The Band

6) 20,000 Years

7) The Futures Never Know

8) Photographs

9) The Fortune Teller

10) Just Drive

11) As All Days Must

The picture, by the way, is the cover, co-designed with designer Pete Brooks. And let me tell you, Pete would be beavering away on the rest of the CD layout were he not navigating his narrow boat up and down the canals and rivers of England for a month… The painting is by my Dad, John Malcolm Williams, who sadly passed away in 1999. Adding the raven felt like scrawling on his work.

Finally for to...

Read More

Introducing the band…

imageNearly there with the new album. Let’s see…

  • Recording complete: drums added. Tick.
  • Album mixed. Tick.
  • Album mastered. Tick.
  • Album listened to. Tick.
  • Last minute worries voiced. Tick.
  • Album re-mastered. Tick.
  • Photo shoot organised. Tick.
  • Photo shoot reorganised. Tick.
  • Photos taken. Tick.
  • Co-producer/engineer/bass player photographed. Tick.
  • Cover art finalised. Tick.
  • Photos sent to designer. Tick.
  • First draft of CD cover. Tick.
  • Audio and artwork uploaded to CD Baby. Tick.

It was always going to be a huge challenge for Dave Shaw to add his drums right at the end of the recording process but the combination of his excellence as a drummer and engineer Dave Saunders’s patience and professionalism served us handsomely...

Read More